How I Read & Share Articles Online

I love reading and the Web brings a world of knowledge to my front door. I love finding interesting articles and sharing them with my friends.

Thought you all might find it interesting to learn more about how I find & share.

First, in Chrome on my laptop, I’ll have Facebook, Twitter, Hacker News, and the New York Times open as pinned tabs all the time.  And I’ll be honest. I only grok about half of Hacker News but reading it makes me feel good about myself. 🙂

On my phone, in addition to Facebook and Twitter’s native apps, I use Reeder to consume my RSS feeds that I’ve loaded into Google Reader. I’m also a fan of Flipboard plus I scan the headlines of the New York Times iPhone app.

When I find a story I like, if its shorter or timely, I’ll read it on the spot. Otherwise, it gets sent to Instapaper. Instapaper is an app that queues online stories for offline reading. It’s perfect for catching up on reading during the commute home, especially because I don’t always have cell reception when I’m on the subway.

If I find something that’s interesting than ill share it right away to my social network accounts using Buffer. If its more evergreen than ill just add it to the queue in Buffer, where the stories will get dribbled out every couple hours.

Where before, if I saw something interesting then I’d just share it. Now it looks like I always am sharing something interesting regardless of whether I’m actively at my computer. And I’m finding that I get considerable more traction for things I share when I use Buffer.

Its interesting.  Before, I would share everything I found interesting as soon as I found it.  Now, I throw it on the Buffer queue.  I’m finding that I get considerable more engagement/response from the things I share when I use Buffer.

How do you consume & share online?

One thought on “How I Read & Share Articles Online”

  1. Great post! But as a consumer of content, I’m not a huge fan of Buffer. I like the product/execution as a publisher but honestly I engage with people who use it less than I would otherwise.

    Like when folks post via Tweetdeck, I am less likely to engage with someone on Twitter unless I see other @mention activity on their side. I don’t like responding to an automated post.

    It’s annoying to me because I subscribe to people from multiple networks. You’re a friend on Facebook, LinkedIn and Twitter and I see your same posts over and over. I honestly wish I could just subscribe to non-buffer updates.

    My two cents.

Leave a comment